LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL Diane F Boyer-Vine

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL

Bureau

A TRADITION OF TRUSTED LEGAL SERVICE TO THE CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL BUREAU 925 L STREET SACRAMENTO. CALIFORNIA 95814 TELEPHONE (916) 341–8000

PACSIMITE (916) 341-8020
INTERNET WWW.LEGISLATIVECOUNSEL.CA.GOV

February 8, 2011

CHIEF DEPUTIES
Jeffrey A. DeLand
Daniel A. Weitzman

PRINCIPAL DEPUTIES JOC Ayala Alvin D. Gress Kirk S. Lome William K. Stark

Cindy M. Cardullo I. Christopher Dawson bebra Zidlich Gibbons Baldey S. Heir Michael R. Kelby Thomas J. Kerbs Diana G. Um. Romuto F. Lopez Kobers A. Pratt Patricia Cates Rhodes Jeff Thom James F. Thurstop Richard B. Weisberg

DEPUTES Stephanie L. Abei Jennster M. barrs Michael P Beaver Vanessa S. Bedford Ann M. Burastera Soci v Calvillo Sergic L. Carpie William Chan Matthew I: Christy Elaine Chu Bycon D. Damiani, it Stephen C. Dehrei Taric O. Dvc Sharon r. Everett Krisia M. Ferris Sharon R. Eisner Lisa C. Goldkuhl Tauren S. Gosher Mari C. Cairman Maria Hilakos Hanke Amy L. Hayde Jacob D. Heninger Stephanie E. Hoelu Russell 14 Holder valerii, R. jones Patricia Har-Torgenser Lon Ann Joseph Michael J. Kerins Eve B. Krotinger t firik Lange Felicia A. Lec Mira A. Macias Mariana Marin Anthony P. Marquez Christine N. Maruccia Claire Maynard Fred A. Messerei William E. Moddelmog Sheila R. Mohan Natalic R. Moore Kendra A. Nielsam Gerardo Partida Sue-Aun Peierson Michael L. Pinkerton Lisa M. Plummer Christina M. Renner Cameron Rhudy Robert D. Roth Michelle L. Samon Anry F. Schwenzer Melissa M. Scolari Aaron D. Silva Jessica J. Steele

Mark Franklin Terry Joanna E. Varner Jovee Wallach Bridley N. Webb Rachelle M. Weed Armin G. Yazdi Jenny C. Yun Jack Zorman Damien M. Schiff, Esq. 3900 Lennane Dr., Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95834

Re: Brown v. Adams, Sacramento Superior court Case No. 34-2009-80000266

Dear Mr. Schiff,

Pursuant to your request, enclosed is a copy of the most recent nomination list for the Scientific Review Panel received from the University of California and a copy of the letter nominating Dr. Froines by the Speaker of the Assembly.

If you have questions regarding this matter, please give me a call at 341-8145.

Very truly yours,

Diane F. Boyer-Vine Legislative Counsel

Michael J. Kerins

Deputy Legislative Counsel

Enclosures

H:\Kerins\Brown v. Adams cover ltr..doc



November 10, 2010

Mr. E. Dotson Wilson Chief Clerk, California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Appointment of John R. Froines to Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants

Dear Mr. Wilson:

Please he advised I have appointed Dr. John R. Froines to the Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants. This is a term appointment starting November 10, 2010 and the expiration date is January 1, 2012.

Sincerely,

JOHN A. PÉREZ

Speaker of the Assembly

IP:1d

GCT

Governor's Office Secretary of State Assembly Rules

State Controller Legislative Counsel Senate Rules

1845. 1867.

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

herreley - Davis - Ievine - Los Angeles - Meecho - Riverside - San Diego - San Brancisco



1111 Franklin Street Onkland, California 94607-5200 Phonet (S10) 987-9074 Panc (S10) 987-9086 http://www.ucop.edu

November 2, 2010

The Honorable John A. Perez Speaker of the Assembly California State Assembly State Capitol, Room 219 Sacramento, California 94249-0046

Dear John:

Thank you for your letter of September 13 requesting the University recommend at least three candidates for possible appointment to the Scientific Review Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants, to replace resigning member Michael Kleinman in the area of toxicology. I understand your request was made pursuant to your role as an appointing authority under Section 39670 of the California Health and Safety Code, which specifies that members of the Panel are to be appointed from a pool of nominees submitted to the appointing authority by the President of the University of California.

I am happy to provide you with the names of new potential candidates in the area of toxicology. Included on the list are both those who have served on the Panel in the past and those who have not previously served. These individuals are scientific experts who hold academic appointments at universities in California, as specified by statute, and are judged to be well-qualified scientifically.

The University has reviewed their scientific credentials and their self-reported disclosures they deem relevant to service on the Toxic Air Contaminants Scientific Review Panel. I understand that these individuals will also be subject to an interview and vetting process administered by your office. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me if additional information is needed.

With best wishes, I am,

Sincerely yours,

Mark G. Yudof President

Enclosure

cc: Provost Pitts

Senior Vice President Dooley Vice President Beckwith

Associate Vice President Juarez

TOTOCTONIC ICICI TIMZ JIM JZM

List of Nominees to the Scientific Research Panel on Toxic Air Contaminants, Expertise in Toxicology:

Laura Van Winkle Associate Adjunct Professor Department of Anatomy, Physiology and Cell Biology School of Veterinary Medicine UC Davis

Joseph Landolph
Associate Professor of Molecular
Microbiology and Immunology
Associate Professor of Pathology
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California

John Froines
Professor of Toxicology
Department of Environmental Health
Sciences
UCLA

Isaac Pessah Professor and Chair Department of Molecular Biosciences School of Veterinary Medicine UC Davis